Skip to main content

Attaching a device

Did you purchase a preconfigured Server or Client device from our shop? Enter its S/N on the SERVERS / CLIENTS management page to ATTACH it to a device slot in your account and start using it.

Attached devices can be detached later

Attaching a device to an account is not permanent. You can detach it from your account if you decide to stop using the service, so that it can be gifted or resold to another user.

The DETACH action has a per-device-slot cooldown of 30 days (you can attach another or the same device immediately after detaching one, but must wait 30 days before detaching again).

Prerequisites

Steps to attach your device

Find the device card for the device you want to attach:

ATTACH DEVICE

In the UTILITIES panel on the right side of the device card, click the ATTACH button. A dialog will appear. Enter the 9 characters long S/N found on the bottom side of your device and click the ATTACH button in the dialog to confirm.

ATTACH DIALOG

After successfully attaching your device, you will see the attached S/N next to the new DETACH button in the UTILITIES panel.

Proceed with the instructions:

If you do not see an ATTACH button in the device card

This may be because there is an already a hardware device attached to the device slot (a DETACH button will be present instead).

If you want to replace the already attached device in the slot (because you are upgrading from Basic to the Pro variant), press the DETACH button to remove the old device (it can be gifted or resold to other users).

If you instead want to attach another device of the same type, go to the device card of another device slot (on the SERVERS management page, you can cycle between device slots with the arrows on the side of the device card, or buttons on the bottom).

If you do not have another device slot, you can purchase an extra device subscription to unlock more slots.